The Mississippi Department of Environmental Quality has selected participants for the 2023-24 Mississippi Diesel School Bus Replacement Program. Seventeen school districts in the state will receive a rebate of up to $22,436.03 per bus to replace an older diesel school bus with a new school bus.  The following were selected for the replacement of a total of twenty-four school buses:

  • Alcorn School District
  • Calhoun County School District
  • George County School District
  • Hancock County School District
  • Hazlehurst City School District
  • Itawamba County School District
  • Jackson Public School District
  • Lamar County School District
  • Lauderdale School District
  • Louisville Municipal School District
  • Moss Point School District
  • Neshoba County School District
  • Newton Municipal School District
  • Ocean Springs School District
  • Quitman School District
  • Scott County School District
  • South Panola School District

The Mississippi Diesel School Bus Replacement Program is funded by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency through the Diesel Emissions Reduction Act (DERA) State Grants Program.  The goal of the Mississippi Diesel School Bus Replacement Program is to reduce emissions from diesel school buses through the early retirement of older, pre-2010 model year buses.  Since implementing the program in 2014, the Mississippi Diesel School Bus Replacement Program has provided over $2.4 million to 63 school districts for the purchase and replacement of 146 school buses.