MDEQ Selects 13 Mississippi School Districts to Participate in School Bus Replacement Program

Jackson, MS – The Mississippi Department of Environmental Quality has selected participants for the 2022-23 Mississippi Diesel School Bus Replacement Program. Twenty-five school districts applied for the replacement of 58 school buses. The following 13 school districts were selected, and each will receive a rebate of up to $23,093 to replace one older diesel school bus with a new diesel school bus.

  • Alcorn School District
  • Chickasaw County School District
  • Cleveland School District
  • Columbus Municipal School District
  • Hazlehurst City School District
  • Itawamba County School District
  • Jackson County School District
  • Jackson Public School District
  • Long Beach School District
  • Pearl Public School District
  • Perry County School District
  • Scott County School District
  • South Panola School District

β€œIt’s a rewarding part of our job to be able to oversee programs like this which benefit our communities and schools while making a positive environmental impact across the state,” said Chris Wells, Executive Director of the Mississippi Department of Environmental Quality.

The Mississippi Diesel School Bus Replacement Program is funded by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) through the Diesel Emissions Reduction Act (DERA) State Grants Program. The goal of the Mississippi Diesel School Bus Replacement Program is to reduce emissions from diesel school buses through the early retirement of older, pre-2010 model year buses. Since implementing the program in 2014, the Mississippi Diesel School Bus Replacement Program has provided over $2.4 million to 63 school districts for the purchase and replacement of 145 school buses.

# # #