## MISSISSIPPI DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING PUBLIC NOTICE START DATE: MARCH 6, 2020 DEADLINE FOR COMMENTS: APRIL 9, 2020

Pursuant to Miss. Code Ann. Sec. 49-17-30, the Mississippi Department of Environmental Quality will hold a public hearing to receive comments regarding the proposed Title V Permit fee for September 1, 2020 through August 31, 2021 to be established by Order of the Mississippi Commission on Environmental Quality (Commission). The public hearing will be held on Thursday, April 9, 2020, at 1:30 p.m. in Room 104A at the Mississippi Department of Environmental Quality, 515 E. Amite St., Jackson, Mississippi.

Miss. Code Ann. Sec. 49-17-30 provides that under Title V of the Federal Clean Air Act, the owner and/or operator of any stationary source of regulated air pollutants shall pay the Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) an annual permit fee. The Commission is charged by law to establish the permit fee in an amount sufficient to cover the cost of the Title V Permit Program. Miss. Code Ann. Sec. 49-17-16 established an Advisory Council to conduct an independent study of the cost of the Title V Permit Program.

On Thursday, February 27, 2020, the Commission received the recommendation and report of the Advisory Council. The Advisory Council recommended to the Commission that the Title V Permit fee be set at \$47.00 per ton of regulated air pollutants with a minimum fee of \$250 for September 1, 2020 through August 31, 2021. The staff of the DEQ also reported to the Commission that based upon the estimated cost of the program, the current estimate of reportable air emissions, and the projected fiscal year 2020 fund balance, the Title V Permit fee of \$47.00 per ton with a \$250 minimum would be adequate. The Commission authorized the staff to proceed to notice of public hearing with the fee as proposed by the Advisory Council.

Copies of information relative to the fee development process will be available for public review through Thursday, April 9, 2020, at the Freedom of Information Office of the Mississippi Department of Environmental Quality, 515 E. Amite St, Jackson, Mississippi or may be obtained by contacting Ms. Deidre Thompson, Public Records Officer at (601) 961-5171 or by writing to the Mississippi Department of Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 2261, Jackson, Mississippi 39225. For persons with internet access, the information may be found on the DEQ website at http://www.mdeq.ms.gov/air. Questions regarding the fee development process may be directed to Ms. Melissa Fortenberry at (601) 961-5171.

Written statements regarding this proposed action will also be made a part of the record to be considered by the Commission if delivered at the public hearing or by 5:00 p.m. on Thursday, April 9, 2020, to the attention of Ms. Melissa Fortenberry at the Mississippi Department of Environmental Quality, Office of Pollution Control, Air Division, 515 E. Amite St., Jackson, Mississippi 39201 or P.O. Box 2261, Jackson, Mississippi 39225 (for mail only). The only matter under consideration is the setting of the Title V Permit fee. To assure clarity and conciseness of the hearing record, both written and oral comments should be restricted to this matter.