This brochure is intended to provide
information to tire retailers, retreaders,
salvage yard dealers, transportation
companies and other waste tire generators
regarding the proper management and
disposal of waste tires in the State of
Mississippi.

New/Used Tire Sales

Retailers of new and used tires should be aware
of the requirements in state law regarding the sale
of new/used tires and the disposal of waste tires.
State law requires that any new or used tire
retailer must accept from a customer at the point
of sale, used or waste tires in a quantity at least
equal to the number of new or reusable tires
purchased (if offered by the customer). Retailers
may assess a disposal fee on each tire sold.
However, this disposal fee imposed on the
consumer may not exceed the actual costs of
disposal of the waste tire. Disposal fees may not
be used as a means of discouraging customers
from leaving waste tires with the retailer and may
not be assessed for commercial gain on the part
of the retailer. Under state law, the disposal costs
for waste tires imposed by the retailer must be
uniformly charged on every customer and may
not be waived even if the customer chooses to
take the waste tires with them.

State law now requires that any person in the
business of selling new tires at wholesale in the
state shall collect a fee at the rate of $1.00 for
each new tire sold with a rim diameter of less
than 24 inches and $2.00 for each new tire sold
with a rim diameter of 24 inches or greater.

However, retailers purchasing new tires from an
out of state wholesaler will be required to pay the
tire fee directly to the State Tax Commission, if
the tire fee is not paid by the out of state
wholesaler. The fees must be remitted monthly
by the wholesaler or retailer to the State Tax
Commission. The fees are utilized to fund the

provisions of the Mississippi waste tire laws and
regulations.

Storage of Waste Tires

Tire retailers and other waste tire generators may
store up to 500 waste tires at one time or 100 waste
tires for up to 90 days without obtaining
authorization for a waste tire collection site from
the MDEQ. Tires stored on site must be stored
free of weeds and vegetation, free of standing
water, away from potential combustion sources
and in a manner otherwise protective of human
health and the environment. Waste tires may not
be burned or placed for storage or disposal at any
unauthorized location.

Transportation and Disposal of
Waste Tires

It is unlawful for a tire retailer or other waste tire
generator to provide waste tires to any person who
does not possess a valid and current waste tire
hauler identification number from the MDEQ.
Any person who hauls 50 or more whole or cut
waste tires at a time or who hauls any amount of
whole or cut waste tires for compensation should
register for and receive a

waste tire hauler identification number from the
MDEQ. These haulers are required to carry a copy
of a valid and current certificate issued by the
MDEQ on each vehicle that they use to transport
tires. This certificate identifies the person’s waste
tire hauler identification number and has an annual
expiration date. In addition, any person who
transports more than 5 waste tires at a time must
use a triplicate certification form provided by
MDEQ to track the proper transportation and
disposal of these tires. These forms are provided
to certified haulers and to permitted processing
and disposal facilities. The hauler or the disposal
facility should provide the generator with a copy
from the triplicate form for their records. These
records may be inspected by MDEQ at any time
during normal business hours. Failure on the part
of the generator, hauler, or processor to maintain
these records is a violation of State law.

All haulers are required to transport the waste tires
to a collection, processing, and/or recycling facility
or other site authorized by the MDEQ. Alternative
sites where tires are used for erosion control,
agricultural uses, or other projects must have
written approval from MDEQ before tires can be
transported to these sites.

Furthermore, when a hauler collects a load
containing both waste and re-usable tires, then the
entire load is considered to be waste tires, until the
reusable or resalable tires are separated and
removed from the waste tires and are designated
and properly stored for resale or recap. Retailers
and other waste tire generators must insure that
haulers, even those that possess an identification
number from the MDEQ), are hauling their waste
tires to an authorized collection or recycling

facility.



Small Quantity Generator
Waste Tires

Another disposal option may be available to
private citizens or owners of smaller businesses
that generate less than 10 waste tires per week.
Each county is required by Mississippi law to
develop a local waste tire collection program for
the deposit of waste tires from private citizens
and other small quantity generators such as
farms, small salvage yards and other small
businesses. County governments have developed
these collection programs to provide suitable
collection sites and satellite drop off centers
around their county for management of waste
tires from private citizens and other small
quantity generators. Most counties have received
a waste tire grant award from the MDEQ to
offset the costs of managing this program.
Consequently, for those eligible persons there
should be no cost for leaving the waste tires at
collection sites in those counties. The waste tire
collection sites are available in all counties for use
by residents to deposit waste car and truck tires
and agricultural tires from trucks, trailers,
tractors, and other farm implement equipment.
These local collection centers generally may
accept tires from the following sources:

e private citizens and homeowners not
engaged in the retail tire business and who
generate less than 25 tires per year;

e governmental agencies such as the county,
city, school district, sheriff’s office and other
public organizations;

e small businesses and other entities such as
farms, mechanic shops, delivery services,

salvage yards, recycling outlets and other
who generate a total of less than 10 waste
tires per week; or

e clean-ups by landowners who have been
llegally ~ dumped  upon, community
beautification and not-for-profit group
clean-ups, collection days in conjunction
with  Household = Hazardous  Waste
Collection days, county or city clean-ups
where the illegally dumped tires number 500
or less. (Note: Larger piles may be eligible for
clean-up through the state’s waste tire
abatement program)

Small quantity generators should contact their
local county officials or the MDEQ for the
location of the nearest waste tire collection center.

Mississippi Waste Tire
Hauling, Collection, Processing
and Recycling Businesses

To obtain a list of certified waste tire haulers and
permitted waste tire collection and recycling
facilities in Mississippi, please visit MDEQ’s
Waste Tire Information Webpage. To access the
webpage, go to:

http://www.mdeq.ms.gov/waste-tire

Or contact the Waste Tire Management Program
at (601) 961-5171.

GUIDE TO
HANDLING AND
DISPOSAL OF
WASTE TIRES

MississIpPrI

" DEPARTMENT OF

!

ENVIRONMENTAL
QuavLrty

o w“_‘”-““‘\"‘\\ MISSISSIPPI WASTE TIRE
MANAGEMENT PROGRAM
P.O. Box 2261

Jackson, MS 39225
1-888-786-0661

601-961-5171

b

| www.mdeq.ms.gov/waste-tire
Hikiaid 2018



