

STATE OF MISSISSIPPI TATE REEVES GOVERNOR MISSISSIPPI DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY CHRIS WELLS, INTERIM EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR

Available Solid Waste Management Facilities in Storm Impacted Counties (Southwest to East Central Mississippi) April 17, 2020

This information has been prepared by MDEQ to assist in responding to the disposal needs from damage caused in recent tornado events that tracked from southwest to east central Mississippi. There are several existing solid waste management facilities in these areas that should be available for disposal of debris subject to the operating conditions of the facility, the type of debris to be disposed, and the approval of the site operator. Additionally, MDEQ encourages interested persons to contact local officials to determine if other local waste collection points, such as transfer stations, are available for use by the public.

The solid waste facilities identified on the attached listings can accept certain approved solid waste materials as follows:

<u>Municipal Solid Waste (MSW) Landfills</u>: The MSW landfill sites are approved to accept all household garbage, mixed building debris, vegetative debris, commercial wastes, office wastes, packaging wastes and any other nonhazardous solid waste.

<u>Class I Rubbish Sites</u>: Class I rubbish sites are approved to accept all rubbish wastes and building and structural debris such as brick, wood, metal, concrete, roofing, siding, furniture, carpet and other types of building debris. The sites can also accept all class II rubbish such as vegetative wastes and inert debris. The sites cannot accept household garbage, household chemicals, containers, or certain industrial wastes for disposal.

<u>Class II Rubbish Sites</u>: Class II rubbish sites are approved to accept vegetative wastes and inert debris such as concrete and brick that can be separated from other building debris. The sites cannot accept mixed building debris, household garbage or household chemicals.

For contacts and information on other solid waste management facilities in counties not listed in the attached information, visit our website at: <u>https://www.mdeq.ms.gov/waste</u> or contact the MDEQ Waste Division at 601-961-5171.

MDEQ may also be working with local governments in affected counties to evaluate and approve temporary storm debris management sites that are not included on the attached listing of permanent permitted solid waste facilities. Additional information on these sites will be provided as it is made available.

Solid Waste Disposal Sites in the Impact Area

Below are the solid waste disposal facilities known or believed to be open and accepting storm generated wastes in the counties of Clarke, Covington, Jasper, Jefferson Davis, Jones, Lamar, Lawrence, Lincoln, Marion, Pike, Smith, and Walthall. Additional and temporary sites may be added as necessary.

Municipal Solid Waste Landfills

Lauderdale

Pine Ridge Sanitary Landfill Lance Sanders, Regional Mgr 520 Murphy Road Meridian, MS 39301 601-483-0715 N32.375286, W88.610022

Pearl River

Central Landfill Sam Williams, District Mgr 8800 Highway 11 Carriere, MS 39426 228-284-6678 N30.707472, W89.602472

Clarke

Clarke County Rubbish Site Paul Shirley, Landfill Mgr 155 County Rd 686 Quitman, MS 39355 601-776-5466 N32.007918, W88.670583

Covington

North Rubbish Site at Mt Olive Jimmy D White, President 556 MS 532 Mount Olive, MS 39119 601-765-8605 N31.754611, W89.598556

Covington

South Rubbish Site at Seminary Jimmy D. White, BOS President 1621 US 49 Seminary, MS 39479 601-765-8605 N31.531953, W89.500017 Perry

Pine Belt Regional Landfill James Harrison, Exec Dir 5274 Highway 29 South Ovett, MS 39464 601-545-6676 N31.405611, W89.094222

Scott

Clearview Landfill Jim Johnston, Op. Mgr. 2253 Mudline Road Lake, MS 39092 601-545-6676 N32.235378, W89.372297

Class I Rubbish Sites

Jeff Davis

Jefferson Davis County Rubbish Site Macon Holliman, BOS President East St. Stephens Rd Prentiss, MS 39474 601-792-4336 N31.585361, W89.804444

Jones

Randy-Danny Rubbish Site Leigh Pitts-Lawson, President 184 Ira G. Odom Rd Ellisville, MS 39437 601-477-3999 N31.578125, W89.139761

Lamar

Oak Grove Rubbish Site Jahncke Price, Operations Mgr 133 Gravel Pit Rd Hattiesburg, MS 39402 601-268-1159 <u>N31.325111, W89.403278</u>

Lawrence

Lawrence County Rubbish Site Steve Garrett, President 0791 Ferguson Mill Rd Monticello, MS 39654 601-587-3003 <u>N31.620993, W90.070881</u>

Lincoln

Brookhaven Class I Rubbish Site Keith Lewi s, PW Dir 463 County Farm Ln NE Brookhaven, MS 39601 601-833-7766 N31.565289, W90.411961

Jasper

Bay Springs Rubbish Site Donald Brown, Maintenance Supt 63 Park Dr Bay Springs, MS 39422 601-764-4112 N31.969167, W89.283056

Jones

Laurel Rubbish Site Lorenzo Anderson, PW Dir Hillcrest Dr. & Airport Dr. Laurel, MS 39440 601-428-6456 <u>N31.676020, W89.174036</u>

Pike

Magnolia Landfill Luke Williams, Owner/Operator 2103 Hwy. 48 E Magnolia, MS 39652 601-783-6765 N31.132444, W90.429167

Smith

Houston Resources Rubbish Site Jerry Houston, President 1930 SCR 101 Raleigh, MS 39153 601-789-5505 <u>N32.035083, W89.376028</u>

Class II Rubbish Sites

Lincoln

Brookhaven Class II Rubbish Site Keith Lewis, Dir of PW 463 County Farm Lane NE Brookhaven, MS 39601 601-833-7766 <u>N31.565289, W90.411961</u>

Pike

Magnolia Landfill (Class II) Luke Williams, Owner/Operator 2103 Hwy 48 E. Magnolia, MS 39552 601-783-6765 N31.132444, W90.429167